Thrillers – If You Like: Daniel Silva

If You Like: Daniel Silva

In Daniel Silva’s complex, sophisticated novels featuring Gabriel Allon, the Israeli intelligence agent-cum-art restorer embarks on dangerous missions across the world. A brooding and ruthless hero, Allon tracks down quarries just as haunted; solid and meticulously researched backgrounds and the histories of particular eras, people, and places always play a vital role in these well-crafted, suspenseful tales. We know that the 16th in the series, The Black Widow, is out this month; if you’re waiting impatiently, try one of the books below (novels by Robert Littell and John le Carré may also suit).
The Detachment
by Barry Eisler

Suspense Fiction. As in the Gabriel Allon novels, there’s an engaging group dynamic at work in Barry Eisler’s John Rain thrillers, as well as plenty of spycraft, though Rain is an enigmatic (and, in The Detachment, semi-retired) assassin and Allon an Israeli intelligence agent. In this 7th novel (of 8 so far), Rain and his team are presented with a list of three high-level U.S. government targets plotting to stage a coup by manufacturing attacks that will be blamed on Islamic extremists. Tense, twisty, often politically complex, and well-researched, this series from a former CIA covert agent starts with Rain Fall.

Red Star Burning: A Thriller
by Brian Freemantle

Spy Fiction. Charlie Muffin has long been an excellent agent for MI5 –Red Star Burning is the 15th in the long-running series — but his luck may finally be running out. He’s hidden not only his marriage to a high-ranking Russian intelligence agent but also the existence of their daughter — and their lives may be in danger if he can’t find a way to smuggle them out of Russia. But when his secret is exposed, Charlie has to outwit both governments in order to save his family — and his career. Plausible scenarios, complex characters, and contemporary characters are some of the similarities between the Charlie Muffin and Gabriel Allon series.

Mission to Paris: A Novel
by Alan Furst

Both Alan Furst and Daniel Silva write evocative, atmospheric spy novels that share moods of bleak melancholy, complex plots, and solid research. However, while Silva’s are set in the present (albeit with a deep awareness of the past), Furst’s are set in the 1930s and ’40s, andMission to Paris is no exception. Twelfth in the loosely connected Night Soldiers series, it stars Hollywood movie star Fredric Stahl, filming in Paris on the eve of 1938’s Munich Appeasement. While the Germans wish to use him for their own purposes, Stahl has other ideas, and ultimately gets caught up in a dangerous game of politics and espionage.

Body of Lies: A Novel
by David Ignatius

Spy Fiction. Roger Ferris is a Jordan-based CIA agent obsessed with taking down the elusive “Suleiman,” a key al-Qaeda operative about whom little is known. Expanding on a scheme the British used — successfully — against the Nazis, Ferris develops a plan to destroy Suleiman and damage al-Qaeda in the process. Unfortunately, the manipulations and deceptions inherent in his efforts to turn terrorists against each other begin to affect his personal and professional relationships. Like Daniel Silva, author David Ignatius writes knowledgeably about espionage, global intrigue, and contemporary political affairs — and offers a nuanced, conflicted protagonist.

The Red Room
by Ridley Pearson

Spy Fiction. Ok, this one’s a little different — the main appeal here for Gabriel Allon fans is the fact that an art piece is the center of the action. Security expert (and art trader) John Knox and his partner, former Chinese spy Grace Chu, are in Istanbul, having agreed to orchestrate a brief meeting and broker a trade. But they quickly find that they’re prey to some unknown threat — and that’s before Grace is kidnapped and John is shot at. Plenty of tradecraft and political commentary will satiate Gabriel Allon’s many fans — and there are four in the series (starting with The Risk Agent and ending with White Bone, out this month) for those who get hooked.

List created 7/11/16 – James Hartmann

Adapted from Nextreads.

Posted in Adult Staff Picks, Reading Lists and tagged , , , , , .